Evaluation

I think I did well on my project considering the alterations that had to be made throughout, whether that be problems or just changes I wanted to make. So for example I initially wanted to created a 3D game to advance my skills but it ended up being to challenging and I left it as experimentation and did learn from it but not enough. Meaning I opted for the 2D game I created in Construct 3 which I also had to learn.

With the basis of my project being to learn new skills to develop greater games and just overall improve my capabilities for future projects, such like university. With my research I did learn new skills with experimentation and I was also inspired by the art styles and game mechanics I looked into. Leaving me to create the game with my own twist such as like your normal side scrolling 2D tower defence game I wanted to create the 3D like feel by having it top down so you could move your chatcter and turrets. Also looking into coding with spawning objects and making score and buttins work etc.

So throughout this project I learnt new skills that I set out to learn and experimented and pushed myself to try different skills and techniques. In addition making my main focus about what I wanted to learn as it was a self directed brief, I learnt personal skills like character development with the independent part and making sure I sorted everything and set tasks myself and had to overcome any challenges. With there being issues with programs not working, weather situations so we couldn’t use facilities or internet problems I made sure to work round them into getting my final outcome. However my game wasn’t finished to the high standard it wasn’t so much finished due to the fact it was experimentation as a whole and as I was developing the game I game up with more features I wanted to rest and implement, so having to teachteachers and test to make sure it worked.

I’m conclusion I made the 2D tower defence game I set out to make with the features and programming I wanted to try out. Furthermore learning skills and overcoming problems on the way whilst getting feedback and helping others with projects of needed.

Leave a comment