Development of the game

I had some problems as well as success throughout the project and had to work on them, for example my initial idea was to create a 3D game in Unreal Engine 4 with the art style being Stylised Realism taking a big influence off of Fortnite’s Save the World mode. However as I wanted to create a game in Unreal Engine 4 I also had to teach myself the game engine and in doing so I knew it would be challenging but it ended up being too challenging and I left Unreal Engine to be experimentation which is basically what my project is. My project being based on self development with me experimenting and learning new skills in game design. So I ended up making a 2D game in Construct 3 which was also new to me and i had to learn it. But having previous skills in game design for 2D games from previous projects it wasn’t so hard to learn Construct 3.

This is showing some of the coding for the game using Construct 3 and the game features I learnt and implemented. Shown in screenshots below.Presentation1

Showing below the coding for the movement of the player and how it is activated by arrow keys and what that actually does.

Presentation1

The below screenshot is the coding for buttons, score and turrets and there function i had to learnt and test to make them work perfectly. Also the game in action showing turret shooting enemy and player being the green with the button for turrets and score at the top left adding up after time and from killing enemies. I made sure button only works when you have enough points/score and turrets can be dragged and dropped vertical anywhere along making a wall of turrets and the player can move anywhere, with the tower also having health bar that changes if damaged.

/Presentation1Presentation1

This is my experimentation in Unreal Engine. I had first person shooter and made platforms and tried some texturing. Shown in screenshots below.Presentation1Presentation1Presentation1

Leave a comment